Piece A Cake

Every year for Derby, I’ve always brought a cake.  Just your simple from the box kind of cake.  But this year I decided to spice it up a bit.  I was inspired by my friend Mel – who we can call The Disappointer from now on.

I had my simple from the box devils food cake and simple from the can vanilla icing.  Special ingredient: Oreos.  But not just on top the cake.  In the cake.

My Cake for Derby

I lined the bottom of both pans with wax paper and then crammed in Oreo halves with the cream up.  Batter went on top and then I baked the bad dogs.  Yep… look at those yummy little cream cakes. nom nom nom

My Cake for Derby

And if you know me, you know I don’t ice the sides of my cakes.  I do a horrible job at it so I don’t even both with it any  more.  It all tastes the same.  And I still use all the icing.  I just can’t get the hang of it.  I tried to make up for that by putting Oreo crumbles on top too.

My Cake for Derby

Since it was Derby, the cake was getting a festive touch.  I’m not a cake decorator at all  – The Disappointer is the cake decorator – but I cooked up an idea to watercolor some little horses and have them running around the outside of the cake.

My Cake for Derby

Yes, they’re all number seven.  But each horse is a different color and so are the silks.  Besides, seven is a lucky number.  Right?

And TA-DA!  My Derby cake!

My Cake for Derby

Can you believe only half of this was consumed?  Yeah, I was surprised too.  So I brought it to work today.  I find comfort in knowing that I’m not the only one who eats cake for breakfast.

~ by shutterboo on May 3, 2010.

13 Responses to “Piece A Cake”

  1. I love this cake! I would’ve eaten the whole thing if I wasn’t trying to fit into a bikini come June. 😉

  2. Cake, icing and Oreos, that’s my trifecta. This looks sooooooo good.

    • i’m with lou. that’s some holy goodness batman! and i think you need to make one for me. just sayin’.

      • Please, homegirl, you know how to bake – make it yourself. The really hard part is not eating the Oreos while you twist them apart. Very hard. Will power is a must. Or just eat 5 right off the bat and get it out of the way.

  3. That’s cute and clever, too.

  4. I can’t believe this wasn’t finished at the party, but I’m glad it wasn’t because that means I got to have a piece today! NOM!

  5. I love this idea. Cookies in your cake = genius.

    • Mel, I mean The Disappointer, occasionally makes cupcakes this way; an Oreo fits nicely in the liner. Thus she’s the inspiration. 🙂

  6. Oh, that looks tasty. I’m going to need some Oreos. And some cake. Stat.

  7. Dang, if I could have THIS cake…I’d eat it every day for breakfast (lunch and dinner)!

  8. P.S. I don’t particularly like being called The Disappointer….I’m just sayin 😦

Leave a Reply

 
