What Is This ‘Allergies’ You Speak Of?

Shady Bench

OK, so I don’t know about you, but with all the sniffling I’ve been doing the past week, I feel like my nose is going to be sucked in and my face will collapse on itself.  And with all the coughing I’ve been doing, I’m fairly certain a tonsil will work itself loose and make a break for it.  The rest of me feels fine, honky-dory, fit as a fiddle.  But my head…  my head hates me.

The thing is I don’t have allergies.  Well, I’ve never had allergies before.  My immune system was put through the ringer as a wee babe growing up in the Ohio Valley and all that outside stuff that people complain about never sent me in a tizzy.  I used to laugh in the face of allergies.  I think the winds might have changed though.  Boo.

I’ve been talking to anyone who will listen, trying to get a handle on my current condition.  Because I don’t have allergies, I don’t know what it feels like to have allergies.  I honk away with how I feel like my head is hot air balloon and PodMate diagnoses me: allergies.  I type my conditions with disgusting definition to Internet Katie and she tells me to suck it up (her words, not mine) and go to the store because the diagnosis is: allergies.

DAd says the tree pollen count is through the roof this year, it could be: allergies.  I drew pictures in the pollen on our patio table and it looked at me with a smile and laughed: allergies.  The Today Show confirmed DAd’s previous statement (even though Louisville is only orange and not red…WE LIVE IN A VALLEY, IT DOESN’T GO AWAY) and that people across the country are suffering from [you guessed it]: allergies.  But I don’t have allergies.

*cough cough*

I told myself if I’m still honking away and coughing up a lung by next Tuesday, I’m going to the doctor.  But if I had to self-diagnose, I’d say I’m fighting a new thing called allergies.  Well, that or certain death.  Or is there a difference?

** UPDATE: Zyrtec was made by the gods.  And that’s all she wrote. **

~ by shutterboo on April 9, 2010.

12 Responses to “What Is This ‘Allergies’ You Speak Of?”

  1. welcome to my life. i would recommend just getting some claritin. no dr. needed.

  2. I’ve had allergies for YEARS! Went thru all the testing, even did under-the-tongue sensitivity drops. The only thing that works is Claritin. That, and staying inside in the air conditioning during peak outbreaks. I didn’t have ’em as a kid either — I’m told you can develop allergies any time. They’re not fatal, but they sure can make you feel rotten!

  3. Zyrtec is my friend. Now available over the counter. Unless you are a pregnant lady. In which case you must just suffer because apparently Zyrtec is not so good for the half-developed kiddos.

    • Claritin isn’t working – I think I might try a small pack of Zyrtec. And another co-worker said mucinex…. which might be helpful because I’m the queen of mucus right now. Ew. Sorry.

  4. I grew up in this area too and I’ve had allergies my whole life. I see a Dr. Sonne in New Albany that I would highly recommend. I think he sees patients in Jeff as well. I know it is a bit of a drive, but he knows his stuff.
    I even got allergy shots growing up so I could be a lot worse. 😉

  5. Deny, deny , deny.
    Do you know that the human body can change it’s chemistry every seven years? Yup.
    That or pregnancy can throw everything out of whack. I’m not suggesting anything, just sayin’
    So, you see, I understand. Cause I have never had allergies before in my whole entire life. Yet, now… I get those above mentioned sniffles and a headache.
    For me, I’m blamin’ it on the having a child thing. She’s given me so much… including allergies and an aversion to broccoli that I once enjoyed but now I can no longer stand the smell of.
    Look at it this way, if you ever decide to have children you might counteract the allergies. I would never suggest such a move if you like broccoli. 🙂

  6. I have never in my life had allergies as bad as the years I was living in Cincinnati. Stupid valley.

  7. You poor thing! I grew up on a ranch,surrounded by hay fields and open pastures that grew all kinds of pollen-infested plant matter, and not once did I sniffle, sneeze, or snort.
    Then, after I got married, I moved to Austin, Texas. A beautiful, eclectic city inundated with Cedar trees.
    Enter “Cedar Fever.”
    Never saw it coming.
    Misery.
    So, Shutterboo, I feel your pain. Go to the doctor. Have some testing done. And take allergy meds…NOW!
    You can thank me later.
    E.
    p.s. I moved from Austin to the Houston area and now wonder if it was better to breath Cedar pollen than the petroleum plant pollution I’m taking in on a daily basis….

  8. Hope your allergies have let up a bit. I just have to say that I absolutely love the image of the trees, the colors and especially the “split” of shade & sun.

Leave a Reply

 
