Ready To Mark Off March

March has been a doozy.  The month, that is.  Just filled with bad news after bad news.

A very dear family friend passed away earlier this month.  I remember Jimmy taking me to chicken dinners at church and delivering him homemade biscuits Mom had made on the weekends.  As did my Great Aunt Helen who had been fighting Alzheimer’s.  Helen was an incredibly kind soul and very cool.  She was full of spunk until the disease began to control her.

Just this weekend, my brother’s father-in-law unexpectedly passed away.  I’ve been thinking about my sister-in-law and the kiddos since I found out.  Leave it to Big Bro to lighten the mood though; I asked him to give his wife a kiss for me and he replied with “Do you want me to use tongue?”  Ew.  No.  On the cheek is just fine.

Nobody likes to talk about death but it’s part of who we are as humans.  It’s bound to happen to all of us.  We just never want it to happen to the ones we care about.

But if accidents do come, we’re happy to know that our loved ones are OK.  Like the hubs, who happened to get in a car accident late Thursday night when it was cold, dark and pouring down rain.  I hate the unexpected, especially when it costs money.  The car is most likely a goner.  The hubs is fine, fit as a fiddle.  But now we’re having to sort through all that insurance mumbo jumbo and blah blah blah.  We took the entire weekend to catch up on sleep and to let our nerves settle.  I hate to say it but I’m kind of happy to be back in the office, drinking bad coffee.

March is almost over.  Three more days left.  Here’s to hoping April is filled with happy news and nothing that involves car parts flying off.


My brother wrote a very touching tribute to his father-in-law.  It’s sweet, it’s witty and it breaks my heart.  Make sure the ones you love know you love them – it makes life that much sweeter.

~ by shutterboo on March 29, 2010.

8 Responses to “Ready To Mark Off March”

  1. I hate days – weeks – months like that. I’ve had my fair share of them. It seems things always happen in 3’s, but for me, it’s always more like 5’s or 6’s. Sorry that you’ve been afflicted with the same type of bad luck. 😦 *hugs* (without tongue)

  2. Yikes, what an awful string of unsettling events! You have my sympathy — and empathy. I remember a series of several horrendous things over the span of a year several years back. It wasn’t pretty, but I survived, and I know you will, too. Hang in there, and don’t let the monkeys get you down!

  3. Hang in there!! Here’s hoping that April will be better… it’s Spring after all!

  4. Aww buddy…so sorry that you had this kind of month. But I am happy to hear Mike is okay. Good thoughts your way!

  5. Boo, I hope April brings you happier days and lighter hearts.

  6. Thanks for the warm comments. I hate being gloomy but I am looking forward to a new month. With the weekend we had, it was hard to find something all puppies and rainbows to write about.
    April should start off with a bang: Final Four and a cookout. 🙂

  7. so glad the hubs is a-okay. cars can be replaced, husbands cannot. well, unless you’re elizabeth taylor. and i’m so sorry about your family’s losses. sending big fat virtual hugs your way. and yes, here’s to a cheery april. i hope yours is filled with rainbows and sunshine and flowers and lots of love from your “doggins”.

Leave a Reply

 
