Another Year Older… It’s All Good

Looking Forward to Another Year

A couple weeks back, I began reflecting on life as I know it.  How I continue to age and take on more and more responsibilities but really don’t feel “grown up”.  And I’ve decided.  I’m not going to.  nana nana boo boo.

Today is my birthday.  Like any other Friday, I’m sitting at my desk sorting through e-mails, drinking bad coffee, putting off talking to sales reps about inflated rates… but I’m in a rather good mood.  As I should be.  Because it’s my birthday.  I think the stargazers that the hubs sent me are definitely helping.  The aroma is out of the world hypnotic.  Thank you, hubs.

I’m looking forward to this year.  As I venture into my late-twenties/almost-thirties, I do believe that I’m more comfortable with myself.  I have no problem busting a move in a department store.  I tell bad jokes to people I barely know.  I sing as I walk from my desk to the kitchen (at home and at work… just as my lovely co-workers).  Apologizing has become easier [but that might be due to the fact that I’ve had a few years to practice].  I know that I’ll never be “fashionable” but that doesn’t mean I can’t try wear a hoodie like a rockstar.  I recognize that family and friends are the most important people in my life.

I try to enjoy myself everyday… whether it’s just talking to someone I love, cuddling with my doggins, getting a big hug from the hubs or singing in the shower… I try.  I’m not always successful but you can’t knock a girl for trying.

So to anyone else that has a birthday today – the best birthday out of the entire year, mind you – HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU.  I hope you enjoy yourself today and carry the birthday celebration into the weekend.  Just don’t party too hard – because no one really likes worshipping the porcelain god.

~ by shutterboo on February 12, 2010.

11 Responses to “Another Year Older… It’s All Good”

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY BOO! May you always feel young! And even when you don’t a good dye job will do the trick.
    🙂

  2. Happy Birthday, Ms. shutterboo!

  3. Well this is perfect! HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Boo! And since you’re in a reminiscing kinda mood, howz ’bout you count down the things that make you happy?! I’m crowning you with the Happy 101 award.

    have a Shutterboolous birthday!

  4. Happy, Happy Birthday — remember, you’re not another year older; you’re another year better! I know, sounds trite, but it’s TRUE! I found your blog when I was looking for “something warm” and “Louisville,” and I’ve gotta say — you’ve got a great way with words (AND photos!). Enjoy your special day, ma’am!!

  5. Happy birthday to you. Hope you’ve had a rockstar day.

  6. Good hubs good! Hope you enjoyed your birthday song today 🙂

  7. Boo Boo

    Enjoyed myself today being with family and friends. I’m glad you decided to start writing more in your little black book. I always told you that it would come in handy

    Doo Doo

  8. Happy Birthday!!
    http://abowerbirdsnest.blogspot.com/2010/02/hap-hap-hap-happy-birthday.html

  9. Happy birthday!! Hope it was a great one!

Leave a Reply

 
