Night Time Outing

A couple weeks ago I stayed out late with mis tres amigas.  We had gone to see the Titanic exhibit at the Louisville Science (that’s all Kelly right there) but when we walked out on to Main Street, it was empty.  E-M-P-T-Y.  I’d never hung out on Main Street on a Friday night before but I didn’t expect there to be no one.  I also didn’t expect my photo to turn out.

Main Street

It’s dark.  The only light was the street lamps and the reflections from the somewhat wet pavement.  It glows.  Then the E.ON roof radiating green light in the background… look horrible.  Why is the roof green?

We were walking to The Bristol for dinner and stopped by 21c Hotel to admire their mini art gallery.  It’s all modern art and fun and interesting and unusual.  Like the room that plays a video of woman talking and she’s only wearing her belly button ring, tube socks and high heels.  You should have seen the look on my Little Skipper’s face when she realized what she was looking at it.

And then there’s the screen with the falling letters. We had a lot of fun with that one.

21C

But that’s what makes 21c cool.  The oddities.  The red penguin statues around the building.  The chandelier hanging up outside.

21C

I’m never really out at night with the kahuna but I want to do this more.  Maybe not until it’s warmer, mind you, but the kahuna will be traveling after dark this spring and summer.  I’m thinking kahuna time at the Chow Wagon.  What do you think, Abs?

~ by shutterboo on February 11, 2010.

2 Responses to “Night Time Outing”

  1. The falling letters thingy is really cool? Where is this at? Louisville? I love museums.
    Let’s see, I’m at least 5, 6 hours away. Maybe the next I’m passing through to go visit friends in New Orleans.
    And I’m trying to figure out that chandelier. The pic almost looks like an animated image. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
