And Sombrero Makes A Set

I told you I finished my hat.  Toboggan.  Beanie.  Whatever you call it in your region.  But I didn’t show you.

Ta-Da!

The Matching Hat

There are two mistakes but you’d never know unless I told.  OK, so one is that it’s a tad too short.  My first hat… with chunky yarn… it was bound to happen… but dually noted.  The other mishap is that I “short knitted” (I think that’s the term PodMate used) and added two extra rows to about 3 inches of hat.  But who cares.  I don’t.  It’s done and it’s cute and it matches my ribbed-for-her-pleasure scarf perfectly.

The Matching Hat

That happens when you use the same yarn and the same k2 p2 pattern.  You see what I did there?  I used knitting lingo.  I’m casting on, my crafting friends.  Ha ha!  I can’t help myself!

But I do think I’m ready for something larger.  Something bigger.  Something that’s going to take more than 2 skeins of yarn.  Just one more thing for me to make for myself.  That’s big.  So I bought the new strings last night.  Here’s the sneak peak:

For My Next Act

I know – I’ve become an addict.  A knitoholic.  But I like it.  And so does my mom.

~ by shutterboo on February 2, 2010.

8 Responses to “And Sombrero Makes A Set”

  1. Yay, another knitaholic! 🙂 I’m sorry we didn’t get to do the photo shoot yesterday, but these pics look great!

    And you were close – you knitted short rows, but you can’t even tell! I promise!

  2. I knitted myself a skirt when I was in middle school. I thought it was really cute. I think I won a blue ribbon for it at the county fair!!!

  3. Very cute! A toboggan, where I come from, is something you ride down a snow covered hill … not something you’d wear on your head. 😉

    • Yeah yeah – we always called a winter hat a tobaggan but after working with so many different people from the midwest and northeast, I just call it a hat now. I can’t take the teasing.

  4. I love the color of your new string!
    I agree, knitting is totally addictive and if you do it long enough you can see the change in your fingers! 🙂

  5. It’s a tobeanie. And it’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

 
