Sugar & Spice & Everything Nice

I love my nieces and nephew.  I love being around them.  I love playing with them.  I love joking with them.  I love photographing them.  I love them.  I also love the fact that my Big Bro lets me bombard his house for full days just to spend time with them.

On the last visit, my nephew wasn’t there as he had better things to do.  My oldest niece would not let me photograph her at all.  I thought I’d sneak a few in while she gobbled down her turkey fries but she’s too fast.  That left the Monkey and the Elf.  I’m fine with that.  They’re cute enough.

I won’t bore you with the inner workings of my family – it interests me but strangers don’t care.  I know that you’re polite enough to read it, but you don’t care.  But let me share this one tiny little moment with these girls.

The Elf, who is a little over two, does not like to share.  Anything.  She isn’t very bratty about it [when I’m around] but sharing is not her prerogative.  So when she was tired of hanging around my neck, she reached for her mom.  And I instinctively grabbed another kiddo to fill the void.  Who happened to be the Monkey.  She’d let me hug on her for days.  But the Elf would have none of this.  She wanted her sister.  So she stole her.

The Elf Stole My Monkey

You cannot see me, but the Monkey is looking at me on the left.  The Elf is looking at my sister-inlaw and laughing.  If she could speak good english she’d be saying “Haha!  That Aunt Brooke is a weenie!  I’ve conquered her because I now have the Monkey!  Elf one, Aunt Brooke zero!”

Thief.  But they all look so happy.  Hmph.

DAd took that photo.  Of course, that only happened after I reminded him he has to look through the viewfinder and take off the lens cap.  And then he almost dropped it so I had to yell “Put the strap around your neck!”  I know… I question the idea he was a wedding photographer myself.

But how can I stay angry?  I can’t.  Because stuff like this happens.

Monkey & Elf

Melts my heart.  And this, Internet, is why I love them.  And why I took the camera away from DAd.

~ by shutterboo on January 25, 2010.

2 Responses to “Sugar & Spice & Everything Nice”

  1. LOL poor DAd. But great pics!

  2. Thank you for stopping by my site, and your lovely comment. I love how you captured the moment here!

Leave a Reply

 
