They Call Them…

Turkey Fries.

????

These little fried up thingamajigs are in fact turkey testicles.  And are considered something special as they’re hard to come by.  I’ve been told that their local Wal-mart sells them, but as soon as they hit the shelves, they are purchased.  Like hot cakes.  Only they’re not cakes.

Big Bro said this bunch came from his father-inlaw – who had gotten them from a friend – who had been on a waiting list for a year.  A YEAR!! For turkey balls!

I ate a few pieces but this is not for me.  I’ll let the people who are nuts for turkey nuts keep them to themselves.  I did Google a “turkey testicles” to see how popular they actually are and found there is a Turkey Testicle Festival in Huntley, Illinois every year.  And there are several ways to whip up some animal testes.  If you like that sort of thing.

So what did the poll think?

  • Rabbit Livers 57%
  • Turkey Testicles 29%
  • Squirrel Brains 11%
  • Turtle Gizzards 4%

I had a hard time thinking up uncommon animal parts that humans dine on but I guess the list was pretty good because the masses thought rabbit liver was in the bowl.  You thought wrong.  It was a bowl full of balls.

The best thing about trying this for the first time were the jokes:

“Sister-inlaw, I guess you’ve handled more balls than any other woman in our family.”

“So, how does it feel to have balls in your mouth?”

“I want to dip my balls in it!”

Yeah… I know… we’re total odd balls.  🙂

~ by shutterboo on January 20, 2010.

3 Responses to “They Call Them…”

  1. I was going to comment on your last post, but the comments were closed. The first thing I thought of when I saw this was testicles. But only because of the movie “Funny Farm”. Then I saw how big they were, and thought there’s no way they came from a turkey, and since that was the only testicle choice, I didn’t know what to think! LOL I’m with you, though, there is NO way I’d even try them! The pictures alone were enough to turn my stomach. Blech! LOL

    • You are the second person to reference Funny Farm. The size was a thrower – some were big and some were small. And from what I’ve read, fowl testicles are inside the bird… so there’s one reason of not knowing how big they’d be.

      It is icky. But you should have seen my niece gobble them down. Pun intended. 🙂

  2. Thank God I’m not supposed to eat “organ meat”. One of the few times I’m happy to have the excuse of genetic hemochromatosis on my side.

Leave a Reply

 
