Act II: El Sombrero

Let me start off with something completely off subject: the microwave at work.  Why does it smell like Lean Cuisine all of the time?  I just opened after heating up some water for oatmeal and WHAM! stale Lean Cuisine smell hits me in the face.  Ick.  People need to start eating real food.  Food that doesn’t leave it’s stench permanently etched in the microwave walls.  For reals.


Back to the lecture at hand [perfection is perfected so let ’em understand], on to Act II: El Sombrero.  I started knitting my matching hat last night.  So far, so good.

The Matching Hat

You can see the ribbing already.  But this did not start well.  Not at all.

Mom taught me how to cast on.  Not very hard.  But this circular/round/whatever you call them needles are some twisty little bitches.  It took me an hour to cast on 72 stitches.  Well, part of that is because Mom guesstimated the incorrect length of yarn it would take for 72 stitches so I had to start over at one point.  And then it took another 45 minutes to finish the first row.  I swear, those needles had a life of their own.

But after Bev got me connected (see the green marker?), I was smooth sailing.  Round and round I went.  Knit two, purl two, knit two, purl two… it was like I haven’t had a five-week knitting hiatus.

After 30 more rows of that, the confusion will settle in as I will have to start decreasing my stitches.  To make the dome on my hat.  Very interesting.  But  I have a feeling I’m going to be bugging the crap out of Mom and Bev when that starts.  Just an inkling.

~ by shutterboo on January 15, 2010.

2 Responses to “Act II: El Sombrero”

  1. I just typed out a comment and it disappeared. Grrr.

    Love the hat so far! I just knitted a hat with that Deborah Norville yarn in pink/purple for the little girl I nanny for and it turned out great. When I’m figuring out how much yarn I need to cast on, I give myself a length from my fingers to my elbow for every 20 stitches. I usually have a long tail left over, but that makes me happier than having to re-cast on!

    • Good call, Amy. I’m going to have to remember that for the next project. Which will probably be a hat or a scarf. Even though spring months will be looming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
