The Decade of Adulthood… Or Not

2010.  Still sounds like the future to me.

But it’s the future I look forward to.  The future of my life as an adult.

Adult.  Still sounds like the future to me.

I was chatting with the hubs just the other day about this.  My 28th birthday is right around the corner and well, 28 sounds so adult-like.  Goodbye mid-20s, hello late-20s, aka almost 30s (is that too old to shop at The Gap?).  This is a good thing [unless it’s too old to shop at The Gap].  But at the same time, I in no way, shape or form think like an adult.  Well… not often, anyway.

On the outside looking in, I pass for an adult.  I’m married.  Been married for awhile actually.  I have a house and car.  Which means a house payment and car payment (it feels like Christmas when you pay something off).  I have a job [that I’ve been able to keep for a couple years now].  I make charitable donations.  I wash my car [sometimes].  I use coupons.  I use anti-wrinkle cream (I don’t think you can ever start too early).  I go to bed at 9:30.  These are “adult” things, but the thought process isn’t there.  I think with this new decade, The Decade of Adulthood, things might change.  Or not.

Every decade I’ve been around for so far, I’ve been a child.  The 2000s are iffy but I don’t consider college students adults.  Unless they’re 25, live on their own and pay their own bills.  My blog, my opinions.

1980s – I was born.  I started school.  I learned how to read.  Do math.  Cross multiply.  Became “four-eyes”.  I wanted to listen to GunN’Roses because my Big Bro listened to GunsN’Roses.  Not Iron Maiden though.  I never understood Iron Maiden.

1990s – Riding bikes was a religion.  Rollerskating was my life.  Boys became interesting [but not interested in me].  Big Bro showed me this thing called The Internet.  I carried a pager.  I started high school.  Which the only good thing I got out of high school was a diploma and mis tres amigas (Abby, Kelly & Natalie… duh).

2000s – I graduated high school five months in.  I became an aunt.  I started college.  I had my first beer [and then some].  I fell in love.  I graduated.  I got married.  Moved away.  Bought a house.  Got a dog.  Sold a house.  Moved back.  Bought another house.  Got another dog.  A deaf dog.

2010 – The Decade of Adulthood.  No school.  No parental rules.  No parental funds.  My Our money.  Our happenings.  Adult happenings.  Our life.  Adult life.  With one dog that can hear and one that cannot.  I still can’t get over how in the hell lucky we were to adopt the BDD.

My DAd has always said that even though his body’s aged, his mind hasn’t.  He says he still thinks like an 18-year-old.  I seriously doubt that 18-year-old Stan would pull out a napkin and draw stock market graphs in felt-tip pen, but I go with the flow.  I do think he’s on to something though.

I still think like I’m in college.  Like the past six years haven’t happened.  Or at least passed really really fast.  I have to make more serious decisions than “should I wear the red or the black dress?” or “can I fit this SigEp social into my study time?” or “do I save this money for gas later this week or go ahead and order that pizza?” or “should I get one or two tallboys?”  Who am I kidding, I still ask myself that last one.  But you get my drift.

So my question is: do we ever really become “adults”?  Do we ever lose who we were in our earlier years?  Or does the young mentality stay with us forever?

I guess it doesn’t matter… we are who we are.  As long as my family and friends keep putting up with me, I guess I’m in a good spot.  They’d definitely let me know if I was getting stale.

Don’t Worry… I Have Pictures.

My DAd is a photographer.  Back in the 1970s, he used to photograph weddings.  I asked him why he stopped and he said, “Because people stopped getting married; in the ’80s, they just moved in together.”  But because he sported his 35mm and his “eedeeit-proof” camera, my family has a ton of wonderful pictures through the years.  And I’m not going to lie, I was a cute kid.  I don’t know what happened.

So… here we go: shutterboo through the decades.

The 1980s

My Birthday

Literally, my birthday.  Isn’t my Mom beautiful?

Babies

I had no hair as a baby.  My parents swear it didn’t grow until I was two.  At least I wasn’t aware of it.

Yes...

I breathed Rainbow Brite.  And She-Ra.  My favorite thing about this picture is that I still make this face.

I love my Mom

Missing teeth and rockin’ a side pony.  And jean jacket.  This screams ’80s.

My Family in Blue

And meet the fam.  Also known as The Blue Jean Crew.  I know… you jock this.

The 1990s

Robben's Roost

I was not lying about the rollerskating.  I went to Robben’s Roost every Friday night.  And yes, that’s me in the enormously big glasses.

Last Day of School

Friends.  I don’t think I would have survived high school without good friends.  As you can see, my little skipper’s hair is the same as it was nine 13 years ago.

Sophomore Ridiculousness

So we did this cultural arts thing every year and as sophomores we were forced to juggle and have a Renaissance Faire.  It was lame to say the least.

The Really Big Show

The Really Big Show: the highlight of 1996-1999.  “Here comes the judge, here comes the judge…”

Senior Prom

Senior Prom (technically took place in 2000 but I’m considering the 90s).

My DAd was our “photographer” at prom.  Some people might think “how lame is it that your DAd went to your prom!”  And then you see the pictures and think “man, her DAd is awesome!”  Thanks, DAd, for making those people feel like jackasses.

The 2000s

The Monkey as a Baby

You see this baby?  That’s My Monkey.  My nine-year-old niece.  And look at my tan.  Yeeowza!

College Girl

I’m a sorority girl – Sigma Kappa : 1♥1→!  And I loved it.  I’ve met some wonderful women through the organization and across the country.

The Hubs... 8 years ago

HUBBA HUBBA!  Only the hubs could pull off a 3-piece corduroy suit.  Isn’t he so handsome?

Love Him

I posted this for two reasons: 1) I like it.  2) Because I need to look at this to remind myself to get my ass on the treadmill and work towards being a skinny little tart again.

My Wedding Day

Our wedding day.  And the only picture that I like out of 300.  Really the only thing I wish I could change about that day: a decent photographer.  Oh, and the fact that Mike got car grease on my dress.  And that rip I put in the train.  And my swollen face that morning (another time, another story).

Dammit – a second ago I remembered a perfect day.

The 2010

Well… there are none yet.  Don’t worry, I’ll get DAd crackin’.

And there are actually a few more memories posted on flickr.  I don’t mind nosy people. 🙂

~ by shutterboo on January 14, 2010.

15 Responses to “The Decade of Adulthood… Or Not”

  1. Oh the days of wanting to build an L-shaped pool in our backyards and riding bikes around the neighborhood. 🙂

  2. Brooke, there are many days when I feel “old” (thanks aching feet and back) but I don’t think I’ve ever had a specific moment when I’ve felt “adult”. Except for maybe the times I’ve watched The Mistah get on a bus to head overseas and wondered if he’d come home…but that crap is a whole different reality all together. I think my adult life now definitely needs more of my young adult life fun…I wonder who else is up for reintroducing Thursday night socials?

  3. I may grow old, but I refuse to grow up.
    I hope a day will never come that I feel to adult to be ridiculously goofy with my kids. What fun is being able to do what you want if you have to be grown-up about.

    Teach dad how to scan these so I can have more.

    • I went through everything I had and found a huge envelope. I swiped them when I moved out. I have more and I’ll try to scan those – though I’m not very good at it (I noticed when scrolling through that I didn’t crop well). And I had to do it at work because our scanner will not work without a new ink cartridge and guess who’s too idiotic to get more. Boo.

  4. shut your mouth marco! learning to juggle was so not lame! its the one skill from high school use almost weekly!!! lol

    and trust me, 28 – not that adult like!
    but i can promise you that we will make the 2010’s the best yet, i already have some big plans for us mi amiga

    • “its the one skill from high school use almost weekly”

      I have no reason to doubt this. But I would like to remind you dropped my fruit all over the floor last time you juggled @ my house.
      And yes… I’m ready to make this the best decade ever!

  5. BTW, loved the pic with my hubby in it! Haha, can’t wait to show it too him once he gets home 🙂

  6. 1) Glad the tall boy question always remains
    2) you are beautiful and im going to stab you
    3) awesome pics. this is genius.

  7. oh and i jock you.

  8. Boo Boo

    Becoming an adult is when you take full responsiblt for your actions.

    Thank you for the tear drops.

    LUZUAWAZ

    Doo Doo

  9. I refuse to grow up! Never. Uh uh. Not me!

    (Is there a story about why you capitalize the first 2 letters in DAd?)

    Great pics! 🙂

  10. […] Thursday, I posted a lot of pictures of me growing up.  And on the very last one, my wedding day with the hubs, I briefly mentioned a swollen face.  […]

  11. Loved your b-day picture. And all the little girl photos. And of course the one of my boy.

  12. […] couple weeks back, I began reflecting on life as I know it.  How I continue to age and take on more and more responsibilities but really don’t feel […]

Leave a Reply

 
