It’s Cold – Make Some Soup

Potato Soup

That light box is so frickin useful.  Make one of those while you’re at it too.

One thing I want to try to do more this year is cook.  I can whip up a decent lasagna but the fact is I’m lazy.  If I cook more though, maybe my waist will thin itself out.  Maybe.

I have one of those fool-proof, any-idiot-can-cook-this cook books that is a compilation of donated recipes.  The tried-and-true recipes that people only submit because it turns out good every time.  Amen to that.

And since the temp has been lingering in the teens this week, I decided to make potato soup.  Hallie’s potato soup.  Thank you, Hallie.

Only I added some Velveeta.  Thank you, Velveeta.

Souper easy.  Souper good.  My kind of recipe.

Hallie’s Potato Soup
– 5-6 medium potatoes, cubed
– 1 medium onion, diced
– 8 oz cream cheese
– 1 cup cubed Velveeta
– 1 can cream of celery soup
– 1 can cream of mushroom soup
– 1/4 cup butter
– 1 cup milk
– salt & pepper to taste
1. Cut up potatoes and onions and throw in pot. Cover with inch of water and bring to a boil; then cook over medium heat for 20 minutes.
2. Turn to low heat and add everything else.  Simmer 15 minutes.
3. Top with diced green onions, shredded cheddar and bacon bits.
4. Consume with delight.
~ by shutterboo on January 5, 2010.

3 Responses to “It’s Cold – Make Some Soup”

  1. Glad to see you trying to find your kitchen groove hon.

  2. sounds perfect. now if you could just ship a gallon of the stuff my way, that’d be great.
    thanks,

  3. Boo Boo

    I made potato soup yesterday. I filled it up with ham, however Moo Moo said that it tasted like it had freezer burn.

    Just remember when you take your warm camera outside in the cold, there is a good chance that condensation will form on the inside of your lens.

    This in turn will cause the sunlight to place light streaks on your pictures. Once it is there it is there for keeps.

    When ever I take my camera out in the cold weather I place it in a plastic bag wrap in a towel and let the bag condensate. This in turn will let your camera get cold with out condensation forming in your camera.

Leave a Reply

 
