Gifting My Photos

I’ve been hesitant to gift my photos.  I don’t want it to come off as boastful.  “Hey, here’s this awesome picture I took that I thought you’d totally enjoy.  Because I’m awesome.  I mean, it’s awesome.”  Or something along those lines.  But I like the idea of sharing my hobby with friends and family.

I went out on a limb this Christmas.  And did just that. 

On Thanksgiving, we spent a very fun and very memorable morning with the hubs’s dad and family.  His almost-three-years-old niece was there and when I have the camera I’m drawn to kiddos.  And she likes the attention anyways.  I made out with handful of good shots.  So I made my first collage.  And framed it.  And gifted it to my father-in-law and his wife on Christmas morning. 

Christmas Collage

I know this little girl means more than anything in the world to them.  And we did have a really fun morning.  I also knew they’d enjoy having the pictures but I told myself not get upset if they didn’t “ooh and ahh” over it.  It’s the thought that counts. 

This is my father-in-law after he opened his present.

Christmas Collage

I got the reaction that I had hoped for.  They were pleased.  Very pleased.  And picked the spot on the wall where they’re going to hang it before we left.  And so I was happy, ecstatic really.  I think it’s time I get over myself and go out on a limb more often.

~ by shutterboo on January 3, 2010.

8 Responses to “Gifting My Photos”

  1. That’s awesome– don’t feel weird!! I think you can truly feel comfortable giving photos you took if it’s good ones of people the recipient loves. And your photos are definitely good ones!

  2. Hey B, Happy New One! I know what you mean about gifting photos. It feels a little FullOfMyselfIsh. I’ve fought that feeling for YEARS. I do print and frame my pictures and hang them on my walls at home and office. I then blush (or, in my case, purplush) when someone notices them and complimets me. But last year I did just what you did, except it wasn’t pictures of loved ones.

    I framed 2 shots, one for my new sis-n-law and the other for the new friend she brought to my life. They loved it, were so excited. Then this year I did it again. I made a collage/poster of Eiffel Tower shots for a friend who has been begging me for some.

    I think we are the problem, the critic within us. We need to learn to get out of our own way and take a compliment. Good job, you!

  3. girl, i would totally decorate my entire house with your photography! any time you wanna gift it this way i’d be honored, love your stuff!

  4. I understand what you mean – desire to share your photography with others. For the prints that I’ve done, I wait and when someone makes a favorable comment, then I ask if they’d like one.

  5. Mrs. Rev gives me gorgeous pictures of my daughter, and it makes me tear up. I’m very glad she gifts her photos!

Leave a Reply

 
