My Top 10 Picks of 2009

While I’ve had my kahuna for two years now, it really didn’t click until about seven months ago.  And that’s really when I started carrying it everywhere, not worrying about what other’s thought.  And then I started the blog and started taking even more photos to share with the internet.  My photography is still hit and miss but I’m more satisfied with the outcome these days. 

With 2009 coming to an end, I went through all of my photos from the year and selected my Top 10.  These are my favorites.  I did not choose them just because of the finished product.  Or because other’s had provided positive feedback.  But they are my favorites because the feeling of triumph that came with capturing these photos.  And that’s a feeling only the photographer knows.

1. New York Subway

This was luck.  Pure luck.  The subway came shooting by and like all the other trains we waited for, I started snapping.  Only this one had the reflection of our neighbors on the platform.

NYC: The Subway

2. Chasey Bear

My first good shot with the 50mm.  I finally figured out that I had to step away instead of stepping into the subject.

The Chasey Bear

3. Black Eyed Susans

I’ve fallen in love with this photo about 20 times now.  The flower bokeh is perfect and the depth of field tells a story… all time favorite.

Blackeyed Susans

4. On The Midway

Carnival rides were the reason I toted my dSLR all day at the State Fair.  And this has been a favorite ever since.

Kentucky State Fair: Midway

5. Rachel & Fire

The right marriage between ISO, aperture and shutter speed made this perfect.  And the tripod.  That helped a lot.

Rough River: Firebugs

6. Amy in Red

Taken for the Weekly Photo Challenge.  I had taken about 200 red photos already and the idea to use this hat popped into my head.  And after three shots, I knew I had it.

Week 4: Red

7. Patterson and His Baby Girl

Emotion is the reason this is a favorite.  The framing is off and the focus could be better but you don’t always capture love in pixels.  I feel that I did with this one.

September 19th, 2009

8. Mirror of Time

Also taken for the Weekly Photo Challenge.  And again, an idea that popped into my head.  Focusing on the mirror but using reflections boggles my mind every time I look at it.

Week 10: Time

9. The Wedding Dance

Experimenting can pay off.  I set the camera on the floor and just held down the shutter button.  The movement is whimsical and you can see how happy everyone is. 

The Wedding

10. My Monkey

This little booger makes me smile all of the time but this photo makes my heart smile.  And I like the fact that you can pay her to do just about anything.

Smiling Monkey

Bonus: Zipper… and More

Another Weekly Photo Challenge entry.  The subject was zipper but I wanted to spice it up.  A definite “I can’t believe I took this” photo.

Week 12: Zipper

~ by shutterboo on December 31, 2009.

5 Responses to “My Top 10 Picks of 2009”

  1. These are all so fantastic and inspiring! You definitely have an eye for a great shot, and that’s something that is so hard to learn. I can’t wait to see what you come up with in 2010!

  2. I’m with Pod-Made. these are insane brooke! i want you to teach me everything you know. you have such an eye.

    what a great way to end 2009. cheers to an amazing 2010.

  3. Rachel made the top ten!

  4. All of these are fantastic photos and you should definitely be pleased! You tested youreslf and succeeded! Can’t wait to see the next batch from 2010!!

  5. Your pictures are amazing! I especially like the one with the flowers and the one with the fire.

Leave a Reply

 
