My First Knitting Book

As you know, I’m new to knitting.  I’ve got my scarf done and I have yet to start on the matching hat.  I’ve enjoyed knitting so far.  I go to “class” with my Mom and her knitting friends but my PodMate, Susan, also gives me tips along the way.  She encourages me in my new craft that I find fun and relaxing but complex.  When it comes to sticks and string, it can be very complex.

I look at my beginner level scarf – and I love it – but then marvel at the stuff PodMate creates.  She’s really good at knitting.  So she shared a secret.  Well, maybe not a secret but something special nonetheless: her first knitting book.  Which, thanks to her, happens to be my first knitting book too.

Stitch’n Bitch.

IMG_9362

Groovy title.  Cool quips and sayings on the inside.  With drawings and easy-to-understand directions.  This is my kind of book.

I haven’t dived into yet but have flipped through it several times.  This will be an excellent resource for when I get stuck again [and again].  And there are some cute patterns too.

Like this one.  Pretty much the same pattern for my scarf only mine has 22 stitches and this one has 32 (making it wider).  I can’t wait to start telling people “This is my ‘ribbed-for-her-pleasure’ scarf.”  I didn’t say that to my Granny though – I have manners ya know.

IMG_9367

And Miss Wendi, this is the difference between a knit and a purl.  I couldn’t have said it better.  Actually, I didn’t.  I kind of failed at that.  But now we know. 

And knowing is half the battle.  I kill myself.

IMG_9371

PodMate, I really really like my new book.  You know you didn’t have to go and do a thing like this but it is very appreciated.  Muchas Gracias, my amiga!  I can’t wait to break in the binding.  And still bog you down with crafting questions. 🙂

~ by shutterboo on December 28, 2009.

6 Responses to “My First Knitting Book”

  1. Stitch’n’Bitch is definitely not your Grandma’s knitting book but it is a good one.
    Hey, have you discovered Ravelry.com yet?
    Or, maybe I mentioned it already?
    It’s a great place to find inspiration and bunches of beginner patterns.

    Linky-lou: https://www.ravelry.com/account/login

  2. I’m still howling over the name of that scarf pattern. Thanks for the knit vs purl clarification. Makes me think I’m going through life as a knit (noose) when I’d rather be a purl.

  3. Yay, knitting books! I hope this is just the first of many. 🙂

  4. My knitting friends swear by http://www.knittinghelp.com. There are videos. One day I will learn to purl. I can knit a potholder or a scarf (NOT ribbed for her pleasure….) and that’s it. And it takes me forever so I get angry.

Leave a Reply

 
