Little Bit of This/Little Bit of That

It’s Christmas Eve.  Still.  But before I shut my eyes and have visions of sugar plums dancing in my head, I thought I’d post a little bit of this and that.

Little Bit of This

Last night, I went with my three amigos (Abby, Kelly and Natalie) to get our hair did.  I have so many wonderful pictures to share but those have to wait until I can sort through them more.  I got a little trigger happy.  Well, I decided to leave my hair in the hands of the professional. 

Me: I don’t really like fixing my hair.  I blow dry it and sometimes straighten it.  Don’t use products.  Using conditioner is still a big deal… I’m a no fuss kind of gal.

Shannon (the professional): Well. I have an idea.  I think it will flatter your face and it’s no fuss.  It looks kind of like this [shows me a picture].  Only we’ll keep it a bit longer.

I agreed.  I put my trust in her fine salon-licensed hands.  Scissors were snipping, hair was falling to the left, to the right, up my nose and I looked completely different then when I walked in that place.  I like it (really, I do) but it’s taking some getting used to.  I burned myself three times this morning with the straightener.  I even pulled out the hairspray.  Yeah, still taking some getting used to.

The before:

Before...

Boring.  Uninspiring.  Limpy wimpy hair.  Full of static.

The after:

...and after

Shorter.  Much shorter.  Bouncy.  Healthy.

My girlfriends swear it’s cute.  I’ve known them long enough to know that they won’t lie but they will.  God love them.  We shall see if the burning continues tomorrow.  But I feel the need to say again it really is a good hair cut.  Really.  Really really.

Little Bit of That

We just got home from spending the better half of the day with my parents.  This rarely happens. 

Avatar in 3D

My DAd and Mom.  The hubs was completely ignoring our coolness.

But the stars aligned and awesomeness happened: we went to see Avatar in 3D.

Avatar in 3D

Sporting the new do… in the dark.

I’m not kidding, this movie was awesome.  AWESOME.  I could have sat through it again.  I am glad I took Dramamine beforehand – I’ve been having the tendency to get carsick and I didn’t want to take any chances.  But seriously, a really good movie.  Go and see it now so I won’t be the only one braiding my hair and sticking beads in it.

Bravo, James Cameron, bravo.

~ by shutterboo on December 24, 2009.

6 Responses to “Little Bit of This/Little Bit of That”

  1. merry christmas!! the new haircut is adorable! love it and it totally flatters your face. too cute.
    and your parents. i mean seriously? a) how young are they? and b) could they be anymore adorable?
    and lastly…are those the 3-d glasses? bad ass.
    hope you have a fantastic christmas day and that santa brought you everything on your list!

    • Thanks – I like it better today. It blowed out better.
      My parents are a) old enough and b) not really that adorable. It just looks that way in pictures.
      Yes, 3D specs for the score.

  2. I love your haircut! I was planning on getting mine chopped over break, but now everyone is going think I copied you. Boo! (Just kidding.) That cut is seriously adorable and flattering on you!

  3. Brooke

    Your parents look the coolest and I really really mean that.
    I just can’t get over how young they look with all that gray hair.
    Maybe you should get them to dye their hair.

    DooDoo

  4. Mom

    Can’t believe that DooDoo said that.

  5. Brooke, love, love, love the new ‘do. And I thought going to get your hair did was just a Baltimore expression.

    Hope you had a very Merry Christmas.

    Wendi

Leave a Reply

 
