My Official Title Is Cookie Monster

I met up with my friend Mrs. Rev last week.  And to get into the holiday spirit, I watched her make Christmas cookies.  I helped [some] and brought the cookie cutters [and my stomach] but she didn’t really need me.  I did much of nothing but sit on my fanny.  And take pictures.  But I loved the friendly company [and the smell of cookies].

Making Cookies

These cookies were soft, sugary and had just enough lemon to make you go “What is that?”  These were some seriously yummy cookies.  Better than the Christmas-FAIL-cookies I made four years ago.   Haven’t picked up a jar of sprinkles since then.

The thing about making cookies like these is that it takes forever.  F-O-R-E-V-E-R.  As in a three to four hours for 48 festive-shaped baked goodies to be produced.  But it was fun.  That’s the point, right?

This is how our evening went:

Mrs. Rev made the cookie dough, chilled it, rolled it out and stamped the cookies.

Making Cookies

I painted [some of the cookies] with colored egg yolks.  I did a good job, no?  Best darn evergreen tree I’ve ever laid eyes on.

Making Cookies

Mrs. Rev baked the cookies.

Making Cookies

And I waited for the cookies to come out of the oven.  Well, so did Mrs. Rev.

Making Cookies

And then they cooled.  We only ate one cookie that night.  It broke – a sacrificial cookie for this Cookie Monster.

Making Cookies

Because if Mrs. Rev hadn’t been looking, I would have shoveled a few these in my mouth.  They were NOM!-licious.

~ by shutterboo on December 22, 2009.

One Response to “My Official Title Is Cookie Monster”

  1. I can’t look at these pictures without getting a serious craving for cookies.

Leave a Reply

 
