The Seventies Saved Me

Last Friday I went to a fantastic local restaurant (Lynn’s Paradise Cafe) with some girlfriends from high school.  I was all set to document the night with the bright colors decorating the room as the backdrop.  I didn’t expect it to be so dark.  And the white balance to not help me.  Boo.

After seeing how dark and orange the photos were, I was pissed.  I hate using the flash so I didn’t.  And I hate that the only lens I have that can even stop down enough (even with the ISO up up up) in those lighting conditions is a fixed focal length.  I’ll let that one slide though because I heart my 50mm.  I would have classified this as a photog fail but luckily I found a save.

Photoshop.  But not anything that I could figure out on my own.  Everything I tried with curves and color balance did not work.  (How I hate you color balance!)  I tried black and white but then all the amazing bokeh disappeared.  I need that bokeh.  But there’s this little action (provided by The PW) that I love and it took away all of the bad parts.

Of course, we look like we’re hanging out at Lynn’s in 1977 but I don’t care.  That was a good year, right?  My photos have been saved.  And that makes me happy.  It probably doesn’t make Kelly happy though because I am posting this:

Lynn's Paradise 2

This picture alone makes me really really really happy.  This is the gal who, whenever she sees a camera, poses with the right side of her face towards the light and her arms positioned ever so perfectly behind her back.  And I have her making a fishy face.  Hate all you want, Kelly, but I LOVE THIS!

The bokeh, too, makes me happy.  Big blurry balls of colored light.  Love you.

Lynn's Paradise 1

Kelly being cheeky.  This makes you look like your mom, by the way.  Just saying.

Lynn's Paradise 3

I think that phone cameras are going to get a lot of people in trouble one day.  It’s bound to happen.

Lynn's Paradise 4

My beautiful Nat.  I promise that is light on her chin and not drool.  Pinky promise.

Lynn's Paradise 5

Abby’s universal gang sign that irks Kelly to no end.  “Why do you only do that in my pictures?  I swear Abby, you’ll be so mad at yourself for doing that when we’re all in our wheelchairs.”

Lynn's Paradise 6

And then it being removed from the situation.  (Pah! The situation.)

Lynn's Paradise 7

Brenda laughing at herself.  We laughed too.  With her, of course.

Lynn's Paradise 8

And she continued with her very entertaining story.  But I’m not at liberty to repeat it.  Ever.  I think I’ve said too much already.

Lynn's Paradise 9

Alden.  Being Alden.  Asking questions.  Always asking questions.

Lynn's Paradise 10

I made a new friend that night.  I tell ya, if it’s a la mode I find it.  And put my face in it.

Lynn's Paradise 11

My second favorite of the night.  We were talking about Hullaballoo, a weekend of concerts that will making its way to Churchill Downs here in Louisville.  And Bon Jovi is the main act on Friday.  We love Bon Jovi.  And “Livin’ On A Prayer” is one of our all time favorite songs.

Once we hear it, the world stops.  We sing, we dance, we love it.  And Kelly was whisper-belting it at the table.  She was not loud (thus “whisper”) but she definitely has those Celine Dion head shakes down.  And this is why I love her so so so much.

~ by shutterboo on December 18, 2009.

7 Responses to “The Seventies Saved Me”

  1. Brooke this is awesome…and thank you for not sharing my story, much appreciated. 🙂

  2. I Love reading about the fun you girls have, I Love the Photos and I Love You Brooke !!! I felt like I was there with you guys.
    Keep ’em Coming !!!

  3. As always Brooke Renee you took beautiful pics! I love that you capture the fun of the night. Ur pics make me smile!

  4. Awesome pictures, Brooke 🙂

    I can’t bring cameras to restaurants…Tim gets all weird on me…

  5. OK, Nat is cute as she can be, but I’m glad you clarified the light v drool matter, though. Bon Jovi DOES rule and he can come over to my place any.time.

    BTW, it’s Frenchie aka Personality #4

  6. Brooke, sorry that you had so much trouble with the lighting but I must say that you saved the day even though you had to work for the save! Thanks for coming in to Lynn’s with your friends!!!

    Just so you know we are working on some new lighting installations so hopefully you won’t have to work so hard for photos next time you visit with us!

    Thanks for coming in,
    Patty Schnatter
    Lynn’s Paradise Cafe

Leave a Reply

 
