Virtually Tripping Out

I don’t print my pictures.  Unless I want to share them with my grandparents.  Or the hubs’s grandparents.  Who I actually adopted as my own grandparents because Nan and Pap are fabulous.  I remember the first time I met Nan – and she kissed me on the cheek.  I fell in love right then and there.

What was I saying?  Yeah – I don’t print my pictures.  But occassionally I feel the need to stroll down memory lane.  I did this today.  One because I needed to take a little mental break about 14 times and was afraid if I took a walk I’d end up walking out the door.  And two because I have not picked up the kahuna since Friday.  I picked that thing up every few hours last month when I was working on NaBloPoMo.  But sadly, it’s stayed in the Crumpler the last few days.  I blame it on the weather. 

I’ve been inside as it’s been cold outside.  And now it’s raining like cats and dogs.  When I’m inside, I see the same dang stuff all the day long.  It gets boring.  Fast.  I need some inspiration, a reason to take out the kahuna.  So I went on a little virtual trip to The Big Apple.

I’d never been to New York City until this past May.  And I hit the town with my girlfriends VJ and JWingo (Happy Birthday, JWingo!!).  We went to the MOMA, Central Park, a Mets game, Dave Letterman and even to a little dive called the Frying Pan. 

VJ kept calling it the Flying Skillet. 

NYC: The 7th Inning Stretch

But on my first trip to NYC, my favorite shots were of things you might see in any big city.  But at the same time makes me think this is what NYC is.  It’s just different.  Very very different.  And fast.  I don’t do fast.

NYC: The Post

NYC: The Subway

NYC Times Square

This little virtual trip has done nothing but make me want to go on vacation.  And play with shutter speeds.  Maybe I should go fix the tripod just in case the Human Tripod starts to fail.  And give the doggins a reason to run.  Or the hubs.  That could be funny.

~ by shutterboo on December 8, 2009.

6 Responses to “Virtually Tripping Out”

  1. boo, I hate to tell you this, but you’ve got some mad skills. Those last two pictures are making me drool with envy. Seriously, can you come down here and teach me everything you know?

    • Katie dear, those were pure luck. Cross my heart hope to die stick a needle in my eye.
      I hated me when I had to sort through 300 pictures of Times Square traffic. But pushing all those tourists out my way paid off.

  2. that’s what great photographers say. it was luck.

    my ass.

    you have an eye sweetie. i hate to break it to you.

  3. I really, really like the last two photos. A WHOLE LOT! Playing with shutter speeds are so fun. You did a pretty good job with it. I’ve been itching to get some more of the “speed” shots in myself. You should definitely break out the tripod..it does WONDERS!

    On another note. I feel ya on your lack of taking pictures. I’ve been like that since I moved to Germany. Sad to say, but true. It’s always rainy and crappy here and the weather is always the worst. I rarely get to go out much because of the weather and other reasons. Staying cooped up in a house for a while can really give you cabin fever. That’s why when I do get out and what not…I take a mess load of photos to keep me occupied for a while because I know it will be a good minute before I get out again.

  4. I HAVE to know, how did you get the perfect motion shot of the bus? Tripod? Long exposure? Timer?

    • The 2nd one? It’s actually a train. We were on our way to a Mets game. That photo was taken with my kit lens in the shade of the train platform. The train was going fast so I stood there (Human Tripod triumphs once again!!!) and when I heard it coming, focused and held my finger down. I had about 10 frames – but this one you could see the reflection of the people standing next to us. It was the best. And the creepiest.
      I looked at the photo properties and it says I had my kahuna set at f/5.0 with a 0.04 second (1/25) exposure. ISO at 100 and my focal length was 22mm. I shoot on “continuous” quite often and pick my favorite out of the bunch.

Leave a Reply

 
