Back To The Dungeon, You!

Months and months ago, way back in July when I first started shutterboo, I wrote about the hubs’ Extreme Makeover: Dungeon Edition.  He is taking on the basement one drywall screw at a time.

He “started” this project in December 2008, over his holiday break.  All he really did was buy a lot of stuff, store it in the basement and then hang three sheets of drywall.

Then in June 2009, he got the itch to get crackin.  The man hung 25 sheets of drywall in 2 days.  Before I knew it, the main room of the basement had drywall everywhere.  And mud everywhere.  And drywall dust everywhere (it’s still everywhere actually).  And then he primed.  And I documented it all here and here because I was so proud of all of the work he’d done.  The hubs  was supposed to go back and fix all his mudding mistakes after this… but he didn’t.

That’s when I decided I didn’t support his next decision so I wasn’t going to write about it.  He painted the walls with color.  Why?  I have no idea.  Maybe to see how it looked?  Maybe to have it look more like a room  before our big 4th of July party?  I’ve known this man for nine years and still have no idea how he processes things.  But I didn’t write about it.   Because I didn’t want to.

And I still don’t.  I really don’t even want to write about what he did after that because I think it was silly.  But at the same time I’m excited.  Does that make any sense?  No?  OK, I’ll just show you.

11.29.09

The hubs laid flooring.  Not smart considered the drywall still needs more mudding and sanding and priming and painting but it looks so pretty.  So so so so pretty.  Pretty enough to dance on.  So I did.  We need to have another dance party, sheMohn – it’s an entirely different experience on this floor.

11.29.09

It’s beginning to look like a real room.  Or a bowling alley.  I did include notes on my photos so you should really go to flickr and read those.  Just because.

11.29.09

This part, “the bar”, will be finished last.  The hubs did pick out some beautiful wood that he plans to finish himself as the bar top.  Don’t worry, he knows how to do this.  My father-in-law taught him the Jedi-wood-ways.  But right now it’s housing all of the crap he had on the floor where the wood is now.  Again – don’t understand how he thinks.

11.29.09

He has a personal goal to get this long room fully completed before the New Year.  Do I think he can do it?  Yes, I think he can.  Do I think he will do it?  That’s a trick question.

We shall see how the mystery unfolds.

~ by shutterboo on December 3, 2009.

4 Responses to “Back To The Dungeon, You!”

  1. Did I hear you say New Year’s Eve party???

  2. Looks great so far!
    New years eve 2009? Sorry to burst your bubble. Unless he takes off a lot of work between now and then or hires it out it wont be done in 4 weeks.
    The to do list (in no particular order), as I can tell from the pictures:
    – Finish installing the flooring
    – Finish the drywall
    – Do something with the stairs
    – Trim
    – Paint
    – Bar
    – Finish electrical

    Sure, it can be done but the reality is there is still a lot of work to be done.

    Good luck with it. We did a whole series of podcasts and blog posts about finishing a basement at http://www.handyguyspodcast.com/tag/basement-finishing-series
    If hubby wants any free advice or help with anything he can just ask.

    The Handyguys

Leave a Reply

 
