Momma’s Got A Brand New [Camera] Bag

Not really.  Not at all in fact.  But I found a great way to put one of my nicer purses to good use.

So when I take my camera with me, I usually have the kahuna, the 50mm, the kit lens, spare battery and soft cloth.  I usually keep the battery charger stuffed in the bottom just in case.  And my “Photographer’s Rights” just in case.  Because you never know when you’ll offend someone while taking their photo.  Or steal their soul.  I still can’t get over that.  Weird.

My Normal Camera Bag

And this is how it all fits in my lovely Crumpler bag.  I really like this bag.  A lot.  All of this tucks in there nicely. 

My Normal Camera Bag

But when I go to weddings (which I’ve done a lot this fall) this bag just doesn’t work out for me.  For starters, it never goes with my outfit.  Not that I’m sporting Chanel or Versace, but velcro just doesn’t go with heels.  You get my drift?  And my huge-ass accessory flash [that I don’t know how to use] doesn’t fit.  In other words, I look like a ninny and the Crumpler is over capacity.  But I found a solution.

When I go to a wedding, I usually sit myself at a table with fantastic people (also known as my friends or my family).  And do just that.  Sit.  Or if a really good song comes on, I’ll be up and at ’em but the hubs will most likely be near the table.  My point?  I’m not carting my camera bag around with me all night so I don’t need to worry about the equipment as much or that I’ll drop it.  OK… just work with me for a minute here.

All of this will not fit in my Crumpler.

Bright Idea...

So I took one of my larger handbags that doesn’t have a velcro pull and used it as my camera bag for the evening.  And it worked out wonderfully.  Like I said, the purse stayed with the table so I didn’t have to worry about my equipment getting bumped around and the camera only came out with I wanted to use it.  Here’s how I filled this bad dog up.

1.  Start with a nice big purse that you already have. 

Bright Idea @ Work

2. Place the accessory flash and wallet in the bottom.

Bright Idea @ Work

3. I wrapped my kit lens with a bag.  Yes, a hand-knit, rainbow bag but a bag nonetheless.  Gives a little cushion and protection.  They do make lens bags but I’m too cheap to get one.  This works just fine.

Bright Idea @ Work

4. Place the awesome rainbow knitted bag in the purse.

5. Drop all the little goodies into the side pockets: batteries, keys, compact, lip gloss, etc.

Bright Idea @ Work

6. The kahuna goes right on top.  And there’s enough room to zip.  Viola!

Bright Idea @ Work

Now I do not recommend doing this if you will be out walking with your camera.  It’s best to give your camera and lens the support and protection they need.  And this bag got heavy fast.  That’s what’s so great about the Crumpler – it really is a comfortable bag to wear. 

But I was proud of my little bag-switcheroo-trick and wanted to share.  And I will be doing this again the next time we have to dress up for an event.  And I’m glad I took pictures because now I’ll remember how to pack it just right.

PS – Don’t you just love it when spell check finds zero errors.  Thank you public school education.

~ by shutterboo on November 28, 2009.

6 Responses to “Momma’s Got A Brand New [Camera] Bag”

  1. have i mentioned that you crack me up?

  2. Ha! I love the step by step photos. And the new Christmas theme is fab!

  3. I just don’t think this is what the Coach people had in mind when they sold you that fab turquoise bag….

Leave a Reply

 
