Kitchen Overhaulin’

Today marks the beginning of my stay-cation (I totally ripped the word off from my friend Natalie…thanks Natalie!).  And I decided that I want to do something I’ve been wanting to do since I’ve moved into my house: take down the wallpaper in the kitchen.

It isn’t “ugly” but here’s the thing – I hate wallpaper.  It’s repetitive, loud and is only useful when playing Sims because it makes your darn Sims happy.  It does not make me happy.  And you can’t put holes in it.  Because they stay there forever.  That didn’t stop the previous owner though.  Nope.  We have wallpaper in a couple of other places in the house, but I can live with those.  I cannot live with these green and maroon ivy leaves any longer.  They must go.

Meet my kitchen.

My Kitchen

My Kitchen

It’s cute.  It’s cozy [which is just another way of saying cramped].  It’s useful.  But I hate the wallpaper.  I really don’t like the honey oak cabinets either but that’s way too much commitment right now.  Or the fact that there’s a laminent backsplash around the entire length of the cabinets.  But again, too much commitment.  So the plan for this week is to remove the wallpaper, spackle the areas I messed up and prime.  And prime and prime and prime.  Because I’ve realized there is zero primer under all this wallpaper.  Dammit.

I hope this goes smoothly.  I really really hope this goes quickly.  I hope I don’t take out too many chunks of the wall.  Because I really need this.  I need solid color.  I need my cabinets to look less “honey”.  I’m so frickin needy today.

Oh – and Happy Birthday, Nicole!  Hope the Hoosier Life is treating you well!

~ by shutterboo on November 24, 2009.

6 Responses to “Kitchen Overhaulin’”

  1. You know what’s funny? I just took pictures of my “cozy” kitchen too. We’re redoing everything to put our house on the market. Have fun ripping off the wallpaper…use this time to take out all your aggression. It’s totally worth it!

    • That’s exciting! Good luck with getting it ready. It always seems like once you got it perfect, it’s time to move.
      I can’t wait to be rid of the wall paper. I got a little more than halfway through today. It should all be off by tomorrow. Thursday off and then back to sanding and prepping for primer on Friday.

  2. Can I get some of the pieces for my bathroom? I am thinking of doing the east wall in your ivy and the west wall in grapes. I seriously hope you aren’t throwing it away. At very least you should frame a 12 x 36 section of it or bury it in the back yard.

  3. Somehow “quick” and “remodeling” just don’t work together in our house…hopefully they do in yours 🙂

    • The wallpaper is coming off faster than I thought. *knock on wood*
      I should have it all off today and then be able to clean the walls and scrub the floor. Because I have Downy on everything. I hate the smell of Downy now.

  4. […] Overhaulin’ Update I spent Tuesday and Wednesday de-wallpapering my kitchen.  My wonderful Mom did come and help on Tuesday but I finished it off on Wednesday.  I […]

Leave a Reply

 
