T Minus…How Many More Hours?

All I have to do is make it through today.  Thing is, I don’t know how long today will be.  Apart from the regular 24 hours in a day thing.  I’m talking workday.

My work tends to be cyclical – my client is super duper busy 6 months out of the year.  And that happens to be right now.  I don’t mind being busy.  I’m just not that great at doing constructive thinking 9+ hours a day.  My brain turns to mush about four o’clock.  Speak of the devil…

One thing you may not know about me is I’m a doodler.  So when I’m on telecons, at inter-office meetings or gathered with  my teammates, I’m doodling.  I’ve tried to stop myself but my pencil keeps going back to the paper to make little drawings.  Couple this doodling thing with work picking up speed and this is what you get:

me in the fall

I drew this in September.  Knowing that my whole body would be mush by the time Christmas came around.  Which is why after today, I ain’t doing nothing for the rest of the week.  Take that back.  I am doing stuff but stuff I want to do.  Like remove the wallpaper in my kitchen.

Goodbye green and maroon ivy.

Hello solid color paint.

Six straight days of stay-cation.  It will be wonderful.  I’ll get to sleep in a little, take some aggression out on wallpaper, eat lunch in front of a TV, maybe go on a walkabout with my camera, wear pajamas all day if I want to… magical.  The point is to get rejuvenated – to come back to work Monday morning with guns blazing, ready to negotiate my way to Bermuda and back.

I’m really looking forward to it if you couldn’t tell.

~ by shutterboo on November 23, 2009.

One Response to “T Minus…How Many More Hours?”

  1. I TOTALLY understand this post. Love the term “stay-cation” and am convinced I need one BIG TIME. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
