A Photographic Keepsake

I’m completely guilty of uploading my photos and not doing anything with them.  Only since July have I been doing more – I started the blog to share my photos.  It’s been a mild success thus far.  But I don’t print them. 

And I know you don’t do this either. 

Shame shame, know your name.

Technology has helped us and hurt us.  We used to have to print your pictures to see how they turned out.  And then we’d stick them in an album.  And then they’d collect dust.  Now we keep digital albums.  Big Bro has done a great job at setting up a network so that they can view their family photos on the TV in the living room.  Everyone loves it too.  Especially they little elf.  And he has the family videos at the touch of his finger.  I don’t have this.  Too much work.  And I’m too dumb to figure it out. 

Where am I going with this?  My friends Mel and Thurmeo took a vacation of a lifetime: a 2-3 week cruise through the Mediterranean.  They toured Italy, they toured Greece… and Mel carried that heavy hunk of camera everywhere with her.  With hundreds of photos to sort through, with so many of them helping to tell the story of their baby-making vacation, she decided to make the choice easier.  And create a keepsake. 

Mel made a photobook.  Or as others might call it, a coffee table book.

Mel's Italy Photobook

This, internet, is not your parents photo album.  With the help of Snapfish, Mel was able to highlight her favorites photos while showcasing her “story telling” photos of their journey through the Mediterranean.  I love this  book.  Every page has a different layout that keeps you interested.  The places they visited were so beautiful and Mel did a great job capturing it.  And seeing her photos on the glossy pages, printed in a way that looks professional… well, to say the least, I’m jealous. 

I want to do this now.  But that means I’d have to go back through the hundreds of photos I took in Germany.  And New York.  Best save this for when the hubs and I take a trip of a lifetime.  Which will hopefully be in the next two years.  But I’m not talking about the Mediterranean.  I’m thinking further north.  Much further north.

~ by shutterboo on November 21, 2009.

7 Responses to “A Photographic Keepsake”

  1. Hoping Laura doesn’t see this…

  2. Boo, I’ve done this twice. Once to have a collection of photos of my pets and the other time for my wedding photos. We never had the professional book done, so I decided to do a little coffee table version and truth is, I love it. Yes it did take some time, but it’s well worth it in the end.

  3. Aww, I love seeing my book on here~ too bad it really wasn’t a baby making vacation (too tired!) Maybe we can have one of those at the beggining of the year! 😉

  4. I have too many photos for printing. I do like your big bro and consume them electronically all set to music using software to vary the order and the music so it is never the same twice.

  5. One thing about creating a photo book is it’ll force you to choose only your best work. I’ve been thinking about doing this as well, but based on a calendar year rather than on a place or trip. There are plenty of sites where you can make books.

    Here are two links to sites that review photo album creation sites:

    http://www.slate.com/id/2143039

    http://forums.cnet.com/5208-6136_102-0.html?threadID=136124

    Best of luck. Your photos are great, by the way. I love the dog set about this post. Nice work.

Leave a Reply

 
