Gallopalooza What?

I remember on a school trip to Chicago that the city had several statues of cows.  Painted cows.  Why on earth Chicago had cows, I have no idea.  I remember this.  I know it happened.  Or it could have been an insanely realistic dream.  That happens often.

Like the one time I was being chased by a she-vampire and when I thought I was in the clear, the Queen of the Damned was hanging upside down by her feet from the curtain rod and her dress was the curtain.  I ate garlic for a week just to make sure that vampires would steer clear.

Back to the possibly make-believe cows.  I didn’t understand why all of these dressed up cows were planted around Chicago.  But I get it now.  Because Louisville has its own version.  But not cows here.  We’ve got “the most exciting two minutes in sports”  in this city so there are dozens of dressed up horses that grace our community.

Gallopalooza

Gallopalooza invites artists to design a horse and local businesses and individuals to sponsor the artists.  After it’s all said and done, the horses are auctioned off (today actually) and are placed in their new permanent homes.  And if I’m not mistaken, money raised from the auction goes to Brightside, a local non-profit organization that promotes civic pride and beautifying the community.  I have to admit, I love all of the daffodils they plant.

Gallopalooza

These statues were showcased in front of City Hall so PodMate and I took a walk to get some shots.  The sun was shining this day – shining a little to bright for my taste because these lacquered up horses had reflections.  But I tried to make the best with what I had.

Gallopalooza

I love the idea of artist all having the same blank canvas.  I think it pushes the creativity beyond what you’re used to but these artist do a fantastic job.  Each horse has a different look and sends a different message.  And gives people something to talk about.  “I remember on a school trip to Louisville that the city had several statues of horses.  Painted horses…”

Gallopalooza

~ by shutterboo on November 20, 2009.

3 Responses to “Gallopalooza What?”

  1. We had that here in Baltimore a few years back. Ours were crabs. Go figure.

  2. they’re fantastic!!! athens, ga has painted bulldogs all over the city. it cracks me up. but these are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

 
