I’ve Been Bitten…

… by the Knitting Bug.  I’m digging this knitting thing.  I’ve had three fat mess ups since last week.  One I was able to fix myself but that’s 30 minutes of my life I’ll never get back.  The second mistake my wonderful Mom was able to correct in a couple minutes.  And the third error my Mom had fixed in 5  seconds flat with a crochet hook.  Show off.

But it’s going good.  Knitting that is.  And if I can keep a steady pace [and not have catastrophic mess ups] I could quite possibly be done in a week or so.  This is how far I’ve gotten since last week:

My First Knitting Project

With just a week of knitting under my belt, I’ve learned things.  Things I didn’t think I’d be able to accomplish like

  • how to knit and purl at once and be able to distinguish them.
  • realizing how relaxing it is.
  • how to hold my needles correctly instead of balancing them on my belly.
  • how to fix mistakes – which this might help me with my impatience.  Or not.
  • noticing how annoyed the BDD gets that 1) she cannot sit in my lap (like she fits) and 2) keeps getting spooked by a rogue needle that taps her while she sleeps.

I think I’m going to be sticking to these easy to do/easy to finish knitting numbers.  Hats and scarves will begin to take over the hall closet.  Or my friends will all start wearing the “Brooke Winter Collection.”

~ by shutterboo on November 13, 2009.

4 Responses to “I’ve Been Bitten…”

  1. FUN! I’ve always wanted to learn how to knit. 🙂

  2. Have you gotten sucked into Ravelry.com yet?

    Dishcloths/facecloths are also easy and fast to knit up.

  3. Can you knit me a pair of gloves with thrummels or something…knots…is the “non-knitting” term…

    I have giant hands and extraordinarily long fingers…

  4. […] For my next act, I will be doing a hat.  A matching hat.  So it will be ribbed like my scarf.  And in the same yarn.  But I may have to omit fringe.  Or just put a big tassel on top.  We’ll play that one by ear. To see my scarf’s progress: I’m On My Way I’ve Been Bitten […]

Leave a Reply

 
