Do You Ever… ?

Do you ever do something so often that you want to try to photograph it?  But every time you do, it looks like poo?  *I’m a poet and didn’t even know it.*  That’s how I feel about this one something.  I have so many pictures of my friends doing this something and they never look cool.  Or even OK for that matter.  The photos that is – my friends look kickass.

That something is Rock Band.  And/or Guitar Hero.  Every time a group of us get together for hang time, we usually end up playing it.  Because you need more than two people to play it successfully.  And because it’s fun.  So yes, I have a ton of pictures of my friends rockin’ it out.  But it doesn’t look like that once I view them on the PC.  Someone’s head is chopped off, it’s blurry because they moved, the camera was looking up their nose… poo I say.

Recently, I’ve been getting lucky.  The more I stick the camera in someone’s face, the better the photo turns out.  I know no personal boundaries any more.  Personal space is not optional.  I have to get close to be satisfied.  Especially with the ultra-wide angle because it’s ultra-wide angle magic means that objects may actually be closer than they appear.

Case in point: the photo below.  Though it “appears” that I’m a good foot or so away, I’m a mere inches.  Ultra-wide angle magic at work!

Guitar Hero what?!

Both Alan and Brian were uncomfortable with me taking pictures, saying I was “distracting” them.  Yeah, I was.  I was crawling around on the floor again and that can totally make a person “distracted”.  And I was only inches from their “guitars”, so I can imagine how that was “distracting”.  But I’m an artist – this is how I roll.  (For the record, I do not refer to myself as an artist.  I’m just using that as a cop-out.)

Same thing with Rachel.  I was on my back looking up at her.  I guess this could be classified as an “up the nose shot” but I really like the light.  She looks like she’s glowing because the ceiling light was directly behind her head.  The color shot didn’t look so hot but I’m quite satisfied with the black and white.

Guitar Hero what?!

That’s all I got that I liked.  I really had about 80 or so pictures of these guys holding plastic guitars but none of the others looked good.  So you don’t get to see those.

~ by shutterboo on November 2, 2009.

5 Responses to “Do You Ever… ?”

  1. I feel you on the whole dragging my camera everywhere and constantly being all up in everyone else’s business. The funny thing is now I get ragged on if I don’t bring my camera. I was going to a friend’s house and I knew there would people who had never met me there so I left the camera at home, but then my friends were like, “what, we aren’t blog worthy?” Sometimes we can’t win for losing. Just wait till you go to visit friends and start moving their lights around…

  2. I remember this now. You were all up in my junk where I was wondering what you were doing on your knees right there. Lol. Yea. A little distracting to say the least. The one of Rachel almost looks like she is outside on a sunny day. What are those window drapes doing out there.

  3. […] I don’t have a knack for it but it is fun.  Just this month I’ve photographed friends playing Guitar Hero, my undisclosed model’s zipper, people dancing at a wedding, and the hubs’s very […]

Leave a Reply

 
