OMG Kelly – Best Idea Ever

I don’t get caught up in  Halloween – I’m more of a Thanksgiving person.  You get a whole meal at Thanksgiving, not only candy.  Much better deal.  But even though I don’t don a costume to celebrate, I had to tell you what me and Abby did this week.  Our good friend Kelly had an idea for a costume and it was absolutely perfect.  So Abby and I made it for her.  You’re dying to know, right?  How about a little background story first.

I love Kelly and I’ve known her for years – like 13 or 14 of them.  We all became friends in high school and just haven’t grown apart (which I feel is a fabulous thing because I would be seriously lost without my three buddies).  But as long as I can remember, we’ve embarrassed Kelly.  We tease her until she blushes, she acts like she doesn’t know us when we start dancing like fools, we say inappropriate things and ask inappropriate questions just to get a reaction… and this has been going on for years.  Only twice in my life has Kelly embarrassed me:

  1. The day she and Abby visited me in Indianapolis and had us pose outside the Super Target for a picture.  Kelly taking pictures is not a new thing but standing in a crowded parking lot taking pictures was.
  2. The day we were at Joe’s Older Than Dirt and she couldn’t hear the music they were playing inside and proceeded to pull a tiny speaker set out of her gigantic purse and set it up on the picnic table.  I was mortified.  Mostly because everyone else then had to listen to her selection.  And she turned it up.  I swear, if Celine Dion had come on, I’d been out of there.

The girl likes loves music.  So when she asked me to help make her costume and she told me what it was I was both a) knocked down with how awesome the idea was and b) shocked that she didn’t seem embarrassed by the idea.  So without further ado, I present my Little Skipper, Kelly, and the Polo for this Marco, Abby, with Kelly’s kickass costume:

Kelly's Halloween Costume

Yep, she’s an iPod.  I cannot wait to see what it looks like with the “earbud” speakers that Abby gave her.  She is not only cute but cutting edge and completely trendy.  And pink.  Of course the apple is on the back.  Nothing like a little sandwich board magic to make all your Halloween dreams come true.

~ by shutterboo on October 30, 2009.

6 Responses to “OMG Kelly – Best Idea Ever”

  1. Cute idea! What is the image on the screen? It’s been a long time since I dressed up… I could always wear my college professor outfit… it hangs behind my door waiting for graduation! Best outfit I had was one time (years ago) I and several friends went as DEVO… flower pots and painter overalls! Have a great holiday!

  2. That is AWESOME. Truly. I am like…totally pissed that I didn’t come up with something so unique…and awesome….(I know. I already said that…but…AWESOME….is all I keep thinking).

    • I know, right? It was Kelly’s idea to be an iPod. It was our idea to make her a sandwich board. And all we had to purchase was a little ribbon and little paint. I like homemade costumes so much more.

  3. This is brilliant. love it!!! your friend Kelly and my sister Kelly had worked at Target together for many years. 🙂 I didn’t know her well but I do remember that she is such a sweetheart!

Leave a Reply

 
