Leo: The Fat Cat

My friends have pretty much gotten used to the fact that I take pictures of everything.  Occasionally, someone will throw a fit but not very often.  I did once had a guy yell at me for stealing his soul… so I ignored him completely after that.  How do you respond to that?  I know, I have no idea either.

So when we showed up at the Corbett’s for a little hang out time, no one said anything when I pulled out the kahuna and started crawling around on the floor.  They say the best way to photograph kids and animals is to get on their level.  And their cat Leo was quite the ham.

Leo the Fat Cat

This cat was something else.  After we made acquaintance (the booty rub gets ’em every time), he stayed nearby.  And after I started snapping, the sounds kept him interested.  And he worked it – this cat seriously hammed it up for the camera.

Leo the Fat Cat

I’m not really a cat-person.  I grew up with dogs and I’m much more of a doggin lover.  That doesn’t mean I discriminate against cats – I just really don’t know what to do with them.  One minute they’re all lovey-dovey and making biscuits and the next, their claws have dug into your arms and you have little kitty bite marks on your hands.  But not Leo.  He’s a lover.

Leo the Fat Cat

Leo the fat cat.  He doesn’t really look fat.  But his belly hangs low.  This, however, does not take away from the extreme cute factor.  I had cat fur all down my front because I kept scooting on the floor.  But it was worth it.  I had close to 150 photos of just the Leo.  And I was not bored once going through them.  He puts on quite a show.

Leo the Fat Cat

I feel bad for the other kitty.  He’s a Blue Russian and is apparently quite shy.  So he hid behind the chair and the couch the entire night.  Leo, on the other hand, stretched out in the middle of the floor, sat on eMohn’s head, stuck his own head through the blinds to watch the fire pit and modeled.  I love this little critter.

Leo the Fat Cat

My favorite of the night (below).  The focal length just looks better on this shot.  The profile makes it more interesting.  And I love the post-processing effects I used (gives in that classic 1970s vibe).  Yep, my favorite.

Leo the Fat Cat

~ by shutterboo on October 26, 2009.

6 Responses to “Leo: The Fat Cat”

  1. I am also a dog person, but these are some fab cat pics. Nothing like crawling on the floor to get a great shot. Definitely FOR that. (No soul-stealing protests from this subject, apparently.)

  2. Awwww… pretty kitty!

  3. […] magazine, thyme seasoning… all big fat fails.  All of my shots just looked bland.  I think Leo the fat cat used up all of my creative juice for the weekend.  On Monday, while I was strolling around the […]

  4. hey:-) i like the tones here. how did you do it? thanks for sharing:-)

    • I shot in really low light and even with my white balance changed, the shots had a yellow tone. I used Photoshop (bane of my existence) and auto-color corrected then applied Pioneer Woman’s 70s action – it washes out the color just enough to give it a faded look. I really liked it for Leo.

  5. perfect:-)

Leave a Reply

 
