You Call This A Homecoming?!?

On Saturday, UofL had their homecoming football game against Southern Miss.  [To my surprise] they actually got the win.  Go Cards!  But since it was homecoming, the hubs and I thought we’d head down to Old Cardinal Stadium for some tailgate fun to get in the spirit [even though we thought we were going to lose].  We showed up around noon.  But no one else did.

Homecoming Tailgate

WHERE IS EVERYONE?!?  I know the game isn’t until 7pm but for reals, does nobody tailgate any more?  Two tents.  That’s all that was there.  Two tents.  Sad.  Depressing.  This makes me even more disappointed about football.  I thought more people would be drowning their sorrows because of our losing season.  I thought wrong.

Finally, around 1:30pm, a couple collegians from the hubs’ fraternity show up.  A half hour later there were three collegians.  I think hell froze over.

Homecoming Tailgate

By 3:30pm, there was a decent crowd.  Music was bumping, grills were fired, corn hole boards were out in full force, bean bags were being tossed… this is more like it.  The bad part about people finally showing up?  I had to wait to use the ladies.  Before, I skipped on over, hopped in the port-o-let, and hopped on out.  Now I had to stand in a line.  A long line.  A very long line.

Homecoming Tailgate

Once I had food in my stomach, I was a lot happier.  And I enjoyed all of the alumni that came out to tailgate.  Apparently, the collegians were too cool for school to actual go to tailgating.  Lame.  I never thought I’d see the day when frat boys didn’t want to tailgate.  Geesh.

Enough complaining.  On to better stuff.

Anyone that has hung out with me in the past two years knows I take the kahuna camera [almost] everywhere.  And I’m not the only one of my pals that has a kahuna so nowadays there’s usually at least two people that are snapping away.  And I think we may have scared off a newcomer.  Alan, please tell her we aren’t weirdos – we just like taking pictures and this is the best way to learn.

My Mel doesn’t have a kahuna.  She has a hunk.  That’s what I’m calling it at least.  It’s an Olympus dSLR and it is quite large and bulky and flexes its muscles every chance it gets.  It’s a hunk, for sure.  And it looks even hunkier in Mel’s midget hands.  Mel, where are you?  Oh, you’re behind the hunk, almost missed you there.

Homecoming Tailgate

This is sheMohn.  Bless her heart.  That’s all I have to say.  I heart you, sheMohn!!  OK, I will say eMohn makes excellent bokeh.  The bokeh beard – fantastic.

Homecoming Tailgate

I know that I’ve said that the hubs usually gives me funny faces when I try to take a picture of him.  I could show you the entire reel, but he might be a little disappointed to see that it really isn’t cute at all.  It’s actually quite scary.  So I’ll leave you with this.  Put your tongue back in your mouth, Mike.

Homecoming Tailgate

Now this next fella – we’ve kept him around for years.  And then one day he decided that having normal hair just wasn’t cool any more.  I’m fine with that.  But I’m afraid I’m going to lose an eye every time we hang out now.  It’s like he’s wearing a ninja star on his head, ready to cut anyone at a moments notice.  But don’t let the mohawk fool you.  Travis, my dear, you are still complete nerd like the rest of us.  Yep, a dweeb to the core.

Homecoming Tailgate

And last but not least, Alan’s big wrench.  No, seriously, he had a ginormous wrench and I found it to be humorous because he kept “wrenching” everyone’s arms with it.  Because it was that big.  Alan, how big was this wrench?  Ah, that’s right, big enough to put your face in it.

Homecoming Tailgate

~ by shutterboo on October 13, 2009.

6 Responses to “You Call This A Homecoming?!?”

  1. Duncan had a parking pass on Saturday so he went to the “big people” tailgate area. I will say he wanted very badly to go at 1:00 but fortunately for us all his friend (with newborn twins) said “no dude, we’re going at 4”.

  2. this makes pattyb a sad boy… i should have been there!

  3. My guess is the frat boys don’t tailgate in public anymore because half of them are too young to drink in public. Which is sad, really – on-campus totally doesn’t count as “public”.

    • Actually, I think that’s what they did. Someone mentioned that it was going to be a dry tailgate. Of course I was like “What?! Dry tailgate? Is there such a thing?”
      I told the hubs we’ll just have to rely on ourselves for a good tailgate from now on. Get our own flag so people know where to come and have a fantabulous time. Time to start designing a flag. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
