I’m A Two-Wheeled Renegade

I went to see a man about a bike.  And now I’m hells on wheels, baby.

Huffy what?!?

Don’t knock the Huffy.  I’ve been bicycle shopping for a while, trying to find a deal because let’s face it, I will not be riding this balance-act everyday.  I love the idea of “going for a stroll” at a faster pace, feeling the wind in my hair.  And for when I feel especially adventurous, riding over to Mrs. Rev’s house.  (Yes, adventurous.  That road can get very busy.)

When I was a kid, I rode my bike everywhere and all day long.  That’s probably why I was skinny.  I’m not so skinny any more.  Boo.

Huffy what?!?

A friend was able to set me up with this little Huffy number and she’s a cutie (the bike that is, not that you’re not cute Shadow).  She’s a “touring bike” which means the handlebars are upright, the seat has a little spring cushion, fenders to keep the dirt off and there’s even a place to put a basket if I feel the need to do so.  She needs a name.  And a bell.  So I can be all like “RING RING, bitches!”

Huffy what?!?

I only took her for a quick spin last night.  It has been about 10 years since I’ve ridden a bike.  And you could tell.  My coordination is way a bit off and I started out a little shaky, but the more you practice the better you get.  This evening I’ll be breaking her in for our first neighborhood tour.  Hopefully my neighbors will forgive me if I end up face planting in their front yards.

Thank you, Shadow, for hooking a sista up!  “RING RING!

~ by shutterboo on September 17, 2009.

7 Responses to “I’m A Two-Wheeled Renegade”

  1. I wanna know how long your first mile takes… and not downhill!

  2. AWESOME!!! Let’s go ride bikes sometime.

  3. ha ha! i have a bike too, we should throw them in the jeep and head down to the waterfront to ride sometime, after my foot heals of course. unless you wanna pull me around in a wagon or something, i’d be ok with that too!

  4. […] All you need to know is that I survived.  I felt like weak sauce once I stepped off the bike, but I survived.  I don’t ever remember my arms hurting after I riding a bike.  Still […]

  5. […] you need to know is that I survived.  I felt like weak sauce once I stepped off the bike, but I survived.  I don’t ever remember my arms hurting after riding a bike.  Still trying […]

Leave a Reply

 
