Week 4: Red

Can you believe I had over 200 photos of “red” subjects?  I took pictures of everything in this city that was red.  A Starburst wrapper on the sidewalk.  My neighbor’s tomatoes.  The hubs’ car.  The toolbox in our garage.  Flowers.  Food packaging.  Drinks.  Strangers.  Strangers’ babies.  You name it and I saw red, I snapped away.

Then I had an idea.  And if this idea worked, it could be the money shot.  So I said to AmyHasBangs, “I want you, in that hat, against that wall.”  Or something like that.  I very well could have ended that command with “pretty please?  with sugar on top?”  No less than 5 seconds after I stuck my camera in her face, I knew I found the one.  Don’t you love that feeling?  In a fraction of the time I’d already spent focusing on red things, those 200 photos uploaded on my PC didn’t matter any more.  I smile just thinking about it.

Here is my red:

Week 4: Red

This is my favorite weekly so far.  I know it’s only week four, but I’m going to have a hard time beating the triumphant feeling I had when I took this picture.  Amy’s big, blue eyes are perfect.  And her bangs… her bangs make me speechless.  And the hat?  Well, it’s red.

I did some post processing by boosting the color and adding some contrast.  Then I applied The Pioneer Woman’s seventies action.  After inspection I yelled “TA-DA!”  I love absolutely everything about this photo; nothing AmyHasBangs will say will change my mind.  Bootifool!

For next week, the challenge is “medicine.”  If you’re up for the challenge, feel free to join any time.  The more perspectives, the better.  And don’t forget to check out the flickr pool’s photos or click on the challenger roll – everyone’s doing a kickass job and finding really cool things to photograph.  I heart the challenge!

~ by shutterboo on September 16, 2009.

8 Responses to “Week 4: Red”

  1. That is a a great picture. I see it easily as a movie poster.

  2. this photo is making me so jealous! what a great shot! and it doesn’t hurt that your friend is beautiful. 😉

  3. That’s great!

  4. A lot of people would look at this photo and just see a picture of a woman. However, this is a very high key shot, usually the subject tends to bleed into the background. The flesh doesn’t have any hot spots and it is very clean. You could enlarge this photo many times without seeing any grain. Nice subject especially where the eyes are leading you to look with her. Looks very professional. Can’t wait to see a low key photo of the same subject.

  5. […] in my lap that I really like.  Like Susie’s wedding dress for white.  And Amy wearing the red hat that’s been in our office forever now (this is still my favorite weekly so far).  And […]

  6. […] pal Amy at AmyHasBangs modeled for me.  She did such a fantastic job when I needed a red photo for the challenge that I asked her to help me out again.  So we had a seven minute photo shoot at […]

  7. Wow, I didn’t heard about this topic up to now. Thanx!!

  8. nice shot

Leave a Reply

 
