Week 3: Window

Three weeks down – I’d say we’re doing pretty good so far.

I had a tough time finding a shot that I liked this week.  I had about 54 average shots but none them screamed “pick me!”.  So I spent part of my lunch break walking around the block trying to find The Window.  And they all sucked.  Big time.  I decided it was time to experiment.  That’s the only way I’d meet this deadline [I gave myself].

Here is my window:

3. Window

I’ve read in Bryan Peterson’s book Understanding Exposure that you can “imply motion with the zoom.”  And that is what I attempted.  The shutter speed was still rather fast.  I stood as still as I possibly could because this girl didn’t have a tripod.  But overall, I think it’s decent for my first zoom-motion shot.  Now I’m ready to try this on tripod so we slow down those shutters.  If you haven’t perused Understanding Exposure, I recommend taking a gander at it – he does a great job explaining how to interpret light.

Next week’s challenge is “red.”  Anyone can join at any time; as the old timers say, the more the merrier.  And don’t forget to check out the flickr pool’s photos or click on the challenger roll – it’s interesting how everyone is capturing their subject.  And I’m impressed with some of this fancy photog work that’s going on.

~ by shutterboo on September 9, 2009.

One Response to “Week 3: Window”

  1. I haven’t even attempted this challenge yet. Not sure where the week went. Yikes. Love the photo! Next time, grab a tripod, find an overpass and some good traffic at night and zoom away. You’ll love the result.

Leave a Reply

 
