Why I Love The State Fair

By now, you’re aware of my love for the Kentucky State Fair.  Everything about it gets me in high spirits.  The exhibits, the farm animals, the people, the smells, the carnival food, the music, the people…  I usually attend with my best pals from high school: Abby, Kelly & Natalie.  These girlies make it worth while.  But then, so does the people watching.

Abby was my partner-in-crime all day and we did everything we set out to do (except for the ugly lamp exhibit – still kicking myself for that one).

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

Nat had to work but stopped by frequently as her work is at the Fairgrounds.

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

Kelly had to work as well but joined in on the fun after dark.

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

And Heather came along for the ride this year.

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

We ate.  We drank.  We danced.  We made fun of each other.  We met some people Abby knew (because she knows everyone in this city).  We met some people we didn’t know (but Abby can probably call them a friend now).  And we took lots of pictures.  Now I’m fully aware that many of these aren’t great or even good for that matter but you know what, I don’t care.  I had a good time with my girlfriends and just kept on trying new things with the kahuna.

And instead of telling you all about all of our fun, I’ll just show you.  Forgive me if my photos seem grainy – we stayed out past my bed time and I refused to use the flash.

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

Me dancing – nothing new here.  Photographed by Heather with the kahuna.

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

Kentucky State Fair: Who Knew

Miss Kelly strutting her stuff on the Midway.

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

Abby, this is what you look like when you say “Really?!”  I really mean that.

Kentucky State Fair: Fun Times

We had no idea they still did these!  This was HOT at the roller rink back in the day.

Kentucky State Fair: Who Knew

Always meeting new people – these guys were funny.

Kentucky State Fair: Who Knew

And last but not least, the most surprising thing we saw all night. I told you you wouldn’t believe what was on his shirt. Abby, thanks for taking one for the team!

Kentucky State Fair: Who Knew

I can’t wait to go back!  So I’m going tonight, but not with my besties.  The Hillmans are a good time too – if the Mrs. doesn’t get embarrassed by my awesome dance moves, that is.

~ by shutterboo on August 25, 2009.

One Response to “Why I Love The State Fair”

  1. Wow. I totally didn’t see that shirt coming. Not even a little bit. You really do see everything at the Fair, huh? (Was there deep-fried food on sticks? You can’t have a fair without deep-fried food on sticks!)

Leave a Reply

 
