A Home Away From Home?

It’s been a weird week at work.  Weird, sad and now lonely.  Boo freakin’ hoo.  So I started wandering around the [pretty empty] office and it got me thinking about work spaces.

Why do we feel the need to personalize our space at work?  To create a home away from home?  To make it light and friendly since we willingly commit 40 hours each week?  To remind ourselves why we come to work everyday?  To make “throwing in the towel” harder because we don’t want to carry all this crap to the car?

I realized that my work space is personalized with work memories.  Besides a few family photos, everything else at my desk is a memory, a reminder of my past co-workers.  The people I spent more time with than my dogs Monday through Friday. 

There’s a picture of me and Nanners in Marietta.  A one-of-a-kind post card from Tooty. 

Office Tchotchkes Office Tchotchkes

The daisy-infested skateboard I designed for The Pedestrian Duo’s art show.  A ticket from the WauWau Sisters burlesque comedy show.

Office Tchotchkes

The calendar quote from The Officethat JWingo thought I’d enjoy (and I do).  A big red lobster sucker from VJ’s trip to the Northeast.

Office Tchotchkes Office Tchotchkes

The Non-Sequitur comic that was given to me from a colleague who referred to me as a buzz-kill (yeah, I’m still trying to figure that one out but I do like the comic).

Office Tchotchkes

So this week, while the BossLady was packing up her office for her new job in Nash-Vegas *tear* *sob* *WHY ME!!!*, I acquired a few new pieces to add to the tchotchke collage.  The legacy of the BossLady is now in my work space.

The BossLady gave some words of wisdom to shine light on any situation I may face in the future.

Office Tchotchkes Office Tchotchkes

She relinquished her Mardi Gras beads.  Passed on a vendor gift of a miniature billboard.  (I do media, people.)

Office Tchotchkes Office Tchotchkes

I now own the plant she will not entrust to Jeff any more as he’s nearly killed it twice.  May it live forever.

Office Tchotchkes

Her disinfecting wipes sit on my desktop.   We have a mutual understanding of keeping things disinfected.  She gets me.

Office Tchotchkes

Hopefully these treasures (and every time I use a disinfecting wipe) will remind me of her adept mannerisms, her supportive advice, her contagious laugh, her voice yelling my name in our echoey office.  Because while most people are not fans of their bosses, I liked mine.  My BossLady, or rather my former BossLady, was… she was… well…she was The Shit.  And I mean that from the bottom of my heart, MB.  Good luck in the land of boot scootin’ boogy.

Note: “The Shit” is not to be confused with “shit” which is a derrogatory term meaning something entirely different.

~ by shutterboo on August 7, 2009.

3 Responses to “A Home Away From Home?”

  1. Brooke, These photos are great! I really mean it. You are getting damn good with that camera. I enjoyed your thoughts on the personalized workspace 🙂 Keep it up, I’ll check back soon!

    -Robby

  2. […] on the east coast with family all last week while things were out of sorts around here (with the BossLady abandoning us and all).  But now she’s back.  And she came bearing gifts!  She brought salt water taffy for us […]

  3. […] happy though since I spend 40+ hours a week here.  At this desk.  But I’ve already talked about that long long […]

Leave a Reply

 
