Pickens With My Mel

She had me at blackberries.  I LOVE blackberries.  Probably my favorite berry in the entire world berries.  My berry soul mate.  Screw grape jelly, I want blackberry jam on my PB&J.  Yum.  I love them. 

Huber's Orchard

So what do you get when you add Mel in the mix with blackberries?  An afternoon at Huber’s Orchard.  Take along the camera and what’s it become?  A pickens documentary at Huber’s Orchard.

Huber's Orchard

Fortunately, Mel is not one to be camera-shy but I remember having to say “Get over it” at least once.   Sorry, Mel.  But you so pretty!  I gotsa take pictures of you!

 Huber's Orchard

She taught me the way of pickens in the blackberry patch – go for the middle cause that’s where the big kahunas are.  And she was right.  Boy, was she right. 

Huber's Orchard

Now Mel does have smallish hands (comes with the little person territory) but these are BIG blackberries.  And so juicy and sweet.  I could not wait to get these boogers home.  Actually, I had to taste test a couple to make sure they were worth taking home. Yep, they passed the test.

Huber's Orchard

And a trip to Huber’s is not complete without a bottle of vino at the winery.  So we boozed it up… OK, not really, we just had a small glass and then headed for the sweet stuff at the ice cream shop.  Because there’s always room for ice cream. 

But the best reason for taking the time to do the pickens ourselves – Blackberry Crisp.  Uh… I don’t like to brag *wink* but I sure can bake.  

Blackberry Crispler

(My mouth has already started watering just looking at this picture.  I want another one because two was not enough.  And Mel, I’m sorry I didn’t save any for you.  But it wasn’t because I don’t love you.)

Huber’s Orchard, Winery & Vineyards
19816 Huber Rd.
Starlight, IN 47106
www.huberwinery.com
M-Sa 10a-6p, Su 12p-6p
~ by shutterboo on August 5, 2009.

3 Responses to “Pickens With My Mel”

  1. It was a fun day! Perfect for geting away from all the men in our lives and having a relaxing stress free trip! Girls days are AWESOME!!

  2. These photos are incredible! I feel like I was there. I also feel like I’ve a lot of learning and experimenting to do to be able to take good photos.

  3. […] Catch Phrase… oh how I’ll miss those rounds of beating the mens at Catch Phrase.  No blackberry pickens at Huber’s Orchard this summer.  The fairy dust is finally beginning to settle in that […]

Leave a Reply

 
