Extreme Makeover: Dungeon Edition

We love having people over and I like to think that people love coming over.  So in an attempt to make our partying living space larger, the hubs began Project Basement at the end of 2008.  And then he stalled it for 5 months and it wasn’t because it’s cold in the basement.  Home improvements can get to the best of us sometimes.  But June rolled around and he caught the basement bug and things began to change.  Fast.

At the beginning of June, Mike went from having 6 pieces of drywall hung to something like 25… in 2 days.  Bob the Builder returned, folks!  This is when I decided I had to start documenting the changes because he was on a roll.

06.03.09

06.03.09

And though it doesn’t look like much right now, a small media area and a bar are in the works.  Alan, I know you recommend drawing our plans in Autocad but sometimes when the bug bites, you just have to go with the flow!

06.03.09

Fast forward about a week and the man has built a bar.  I really think it will end up being a great bar because Mike found some beautiful birch for the bar top.  Sorry to disappoint, Flannigan’s, but we plan to belly up to this bar.

06.07.09

Fast forward a few more days and WHAM! there’s a wall behind the bar.  Time travel another week and BOOM! there’s drywall on almost every surface!  I don’t know how the hubs did it, but he was a machine.  I heart my engineer.

06.22.09

06.25.09

06.25.09

Our dungeon turned into a room in a matter of  2½ weeks.  The hubs has done a fantastic job and I’m impressed with all of the work he’s done. *tear* 

Tomorrow I plan to post the remaining pictures I have of our extreme makeover and then it’s just updating when the rathskeller changes.  So y’all come back, ya hear.

~ by shutterboo on July 30, 2009.

One Response to “Extreme Makeover: Dungeon Edition”

  1. […] and months ago, way back in July when I first started shutterboo, I wrote about the hubs’ Extreme Makeover: Dungeon Edition.  He is taking on the basement one drywall screw at a […]

Leave a Reply

 
